Ranch oyster crackers recipe AKA Swamp Crackers

I made these crackers a long time ago. We loved these as kids, we would make them weekly. I remembered it was so easy to make them, and they were super tasty!  It was really ironic one day my co-worker and I were talking about crackers and our strange cravings. She mentioned she was craving Swamp Crackers, my curiosity being peaked, I had to ask, what they were.  I had never heard them described as Swamp Crackers before, perhaps a southern name for them, none-the-less I like the name better than a generic sounding “ranch oyster crackers”. I should have asked my co-worker for the recipe, but I was ecstatic when i found it again on Pinterest.

Here is the picture that made me smile with ranch filled memories:

swamp crackers

They look really really good, but really it’s really hard to mess this one up!

Here is the recipe:

1 (1 oz) package ranch dressing mix

1/4 cup canola or vegetable oil

1 t dried dill weed (or to your taste)

1/2 t garlic powder (or to your taste)

salt to taste [I didn’t add any salt, plenty of salt in the ranch mix, IMO]
1 box or bag oyster crackers [I used a 14oz box, I think it turned out great]

Preheat oven to 250°.

In a large mixing bowl, combine first 5 ingredients and mix well. Stir in oyster crackers mix to coat. Pour crackers onto a large cookie sheet.

Bake 15 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes or so.

Cool and add to a covered container.

How mine turned out:

Swamp Crackers

Leave a Reply

